Vintage Yearbook Photos: 1930 Florida State College For Women

As you might recall, awhile ago I acquired a 1931 Florida State College for Women yearbook. Then, a few weeks later, I acquired the 1930 and 1932 editions from the same person. Today, I’m going to share highlights from the 1930 yearbook.

Freshmen in Fur

Vintage Yearbook 1930s Freshmen
Vintage Yearbook 1930 GirlsHere are some of the freshmen ladies. I noticed many of them were wearing furs in their photos. I thought it was interesting that just the freshmen girls seemed to find fur stylish—I couldn’t find anyone in any of the the other classes wearing it.

Basketball Uniforms

Vintage Space Age Basketball UniformsThey’re a bit space-agey, no?

Soccer Team

Vintage Girls Soccer Team

Hockey Team

Vintage Ladies Hockey Team

Tennis

Vintage Womens Tennis PlayersI love the cut-outs of the tennis players posing with their racquets.

Cotillion Club

Again, the Cotillion club proves to be very stylish and totally badass.

Most Modern Girl

Vintage Modern GirlI saved my favorite part of the yearbook for last. Miss Virgina Bailey got voted Most Modern Girl in senior ballot. I love that she was a pilot and they took a photo of her in her airplane*.

*I assume it’s her airplane since her last name is inscribed on it.

6 Responses to Vintage Yearbook Photos: 1930 Florida State College For Women

  1. Katie says:

    I love these posts! My favorites from this one:
    – the fur is to die for – but I especially love that one girl in the upper right corner wearing a high collar – it seems really out of fashion, no?
    – the shawl-collared “F” sweaters – I want one!
    – the fluffy tuft of bangs on the “most modern girl” – makes me want short hair!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Yes! The high collar does seem out of fashion! Good call. I was drooling over the shawl-collared “F” sweaters too. They are so lovely!

      I really like how so many of these ladies make short hair look stylish and fun. I’m particularly fond of the short, wavy hair. I need to do some research and find out what the flappers used to get those waves so perfect!

  2. anna says:

    i love the basket ball uniforms. especially the way the girl on the left is wearing it.

  3. Jenny says:

    Wow….. I wonder if my grandmother is in that yearbook? She had to drop out before she graduated because of finances, so I don’t know if she would have still be there.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      What was her name? I can look to see if she is in there. If she is, I can scan her photo and email it to you :)

Leave a comment