1931 Florida State Women’s College Yearbook

Art Deco IntroSo those of you who follow me on Facebook know that I recently acquired a 1931 Florida State Women’s College Yearbook. It finally arrived in the mail this week, and as promised, I am delivering the highlights.

First off, I gotta say, this is the most beautiful yearbook I’ve come across yet. The overall design is lovely, totally art deco, and done in a mint green and peach colorway. Someone knew how to pick out fonts, and thought to splurge on linen paper. Hot damn!

A Sampling of the Student Body

Ladies
I love all that short, wavy flapper hair!

Anetta Hamilton

The cover page of this yearbook is inscribed “Anetta Hamilton. Theta Upsilon House. 1931.” I went looking for Miss Hamilton’s photo, but when I came across her name in the sophomores section, her photo was meticulously cut out, and replaced with a tiny white square of paper that had this statement handwritten across it, “So very sorry I cut out this picture. See p. 195 for another. I think it’s one of my best.” When I turned the page, there was more writing on the other side of the tiny piece of paper, “Too young to realize! Such a shame I cut this out when I needed a good picture years ago.” So funny! I went to page 195 and found this photo:

Anetta
Anetta is on the top row, second in from the left.

We Moderns

There is a section simply called We Moderns that features full-page spreads of the lovely ladies who won the Senior Ballot. Here are a few of my favorites.

Sophistication

Rep Student

Originality

Beauty

String Ensemble

Vintage String Ensemble
That little drummer girl on the far right is adorable! (P.S. Click for a better view)

Cotillion Club

Cotillion Club
The sharp looking Cotillion Club. (P.S. Click for a better view)

* * *

This week I bought another Florida yearbook from the same eBay seller. It’s a 1929 University of Florida yearbook, and this one is pirate-themed. As soon as I saw it, I knew it had to be mine—it looks incredible! As always, I will be sure to share the highlights as soon as it arrives in the mail.

9 Responses to 1931 Florida State Women’s College Yearbook

  1. Katie says:

    What a great find! I think that photo of the cotillion club is my new fashion inspiration, especially the lady on the far left.

  2. Super fun! What you’re doing is really interesting and exciting. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Hey there! I’m studying sociology at PSU! how long have you been going there for? I just transferred there this year but i’m digging it so far…and HOPEFULLY graduating next year but we’ll see hahah

  4. kaitlyn says:

    I went to Florida State and those photos are just so incredible. FSU has some really awesome photos framed and hung in our stadium, and my favorite of all time was taken the year men first started attending the college. There’s a guy walking to class and two girls have stopped dead in their tracks and done a 180 to look at him. It’s hysterical.

    Where’d you get that yearbook? It’s awesome.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      There are some photos of some of the buildings and fountains on campus in this yearbook, and FSU looks like a beautiful place!

      I got this yearbook on eBay. I collect old yearbooks, and sometimes I get lucky and find cool gems nobody else bids on :)

  5. Claire says:

    omg thats so cool!! I have to say..Im intensely excited to find fellow irish bloggers! Im in belfast but my passport says im irish and so does my birth cert! Im loving this blog!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Thanks for the lovely comment! Your blog is BEAUTIFUL! I just added it to my Google reader :) Can’t wait to follow your crafty adventures!

  6. deer donna says:

    wow i have really enjoyed seeing all these yearbook photos. i am so glad i found your blog!!!! :D

Leave a Reply

