Meow Milk: My Final School Project

Meow Milk

Today I finished up my last graphic design project for school. You’re looking at Meow Milk—a milk treat for cats that is specially formulated for easy digestion. Although this brand is sadly fictitious, it is based on real cat milk products out there. This project was really fun because it required everything to be over-the-top cute. Oh boy, can I do that!

So on Thursday morning I will turn this project in and officially be a college grad. It’s a little weird and anti-climactic, but I’m already daydreaming about what I will do with all that extra time and brain power.

* * *

Over the past few weeks, with the light at the end of the tunnel getting bigger and brighter, something my Aunt Patti told me before I began school back in 2009 has been on my mind a lot. She said, “I’m so proud of you for being so disciplined and going for it! You’ll never regret doing it.”

At the time, I knew she was right, but lately it’s really hit home how right she was. I’ve been thinking a lot about the past three years I spent at PSU.  I made some awesome friends, got to learn from some amazing teachers and mentors, and grew so much as a person. I guess I never really thought about that last part, but when I think about who I was as I entered school, and who I am now, I have definitely changed a lot.

Art school is fucking hard. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I pushed myself harder than I ever have in my entire life to succeed in school, and with each class and each project, I kept raising the standards and expectations of myself and my work. Somewhere along the way, class crits weren’t  so scary, because I learned not to take them personally. Instead, I knew I could use the feedback to make my work better. Through that process, I learned how to ask for help and how important it is to get a second, third, and fourth opinion from those you admire and trust most.

As I leave PSU this week, I leave as a more confident person. I found something I love. Something I’m good at. Something that I’m passionate about, and something that makes me proud.

A huge thank you goes out to my incredible husband and wonderful daughter for their unconditional love and endless support; my friends and family for cheering me on the entire way; and all those special teachers who put in so much time, energy, and passion into the program—especially Kate Bingaman-Burt, Lis Charman, and Ian Whitmore. I admire you all so much! Thank you for being amazing mentors.

11 Responses to Meow Milk: My Final School Project

  1. I would totally buy that. You packaging worked like a charm, I want it to be a real thing

  2. Danielle says:

    That is so awesome, it looks so great! Excellent work, and congrats on making it through art school and rising to the challenge beautifully! I love every project you’ve ever shared!

  3. Congrats!!! It’s so amazing that you were able to have so many great people to support and guide you through this! Your final project is so cute, I especially love the “<3 more please!" detail.

    xo
    Alex

  4. Sway says:

    Meow Milk is BEYOND gorgeous! I’d totally buy that for El! <3
    Congratulations on all that you've achieved, Hon! You have such a lovely eye for design, and it's clearly perfect for you. Get ready to kick up those heels and do absolutely nothing, at least for the first week of your new free time :)
    Huge love and pats on the back!
    xxx

  5. Beautiful! And so very cute as well:D

    And you’re right. People tend to write off art school as some happy-go-lucky place where you can just be lazy and then say something pretentious afterwards. They couldn’t be more wrong. It’s very hard work indeed.

    Anyway, congrats!

  6. joannameach says:

    I found this while researching for my own project of packaging cat milk! I love it, but hate that I found it, because it’s really good! haha good job and congratulations!

Leave a Reply

