Lovely Lady Locks

I’ve had long hair for a very long time. The last time I cut my hair really short was in spring of 2003.

In winter of 2003, I finally dyed my hair black (after wanting to for many years). I also decided to grow my hair long. In spring 2004 I finally cut my bangs short…

…and I never looked back. I kept growing my hair, and I admit, I really do love my long locks.

Lately, though I’ve been daydreaming a little bit about short hair again. Maybe it’s the heat wave that hit Portland this week, or all the flapper inspiration I’ve been collecting on Pinterest, but I’ve been wondering if a bob is something I could pull off.

Then the other night I saw a gorgeous woman at a restaurant who had a really cute black bob—she looked so much like Colleen Moore!

She was so gosh darn stylish, and she looked so fabulous with a bob, it kind of fueled my bob fever even more.

Then today I remembered that I have an old, blury, grainy photo of me in a black bob wig from 2005* so I dug that up to take a look:

I know the photo is incredibly blury, and I also know I shouldn’t judge a hairstyle from a low-quality wig, but I just don’t know if I could pull off a bob. I admit it could be cute, but I just don’t know if it’s me at this moment in my life.

So for now, I’ll keep my long hair, but we’ll see what happens in the future.

*I went as a flapper for Halloween that year.
Photo Templates by Pugly Pixel
10 Responses to Lovely Lady Locks

  1. It would look gorgeous on you!
    From your pics I’ve always thought you look a bit like Louise Brooks :)

  2. deerdonna says:

    do it do it do it, you would look perfect with a bob like these!!

  3. Rome has a little longer wig. Maybe she can find it and you could try it out for a week and see the reactions. Wear your wig for a few days and see the reaction. Lots of people wear wigs.

  4. Sway says:

    Oh honey! You look fab in that flapper wig! You could totally pull it off! And hey, it’s just a haircut – if you hate it, it’s already growing out anyway :)
    Be bold!
    Love xxxxxxx

  5. flappergirlcreations says:

    Awwww. Thanks for all your support ladies. I think I’m going to hold off on the haircut for now, but I’m sure I will do it at some point in the next few years :)

  6. kathleen says:

    chop it off! chop it off!

Leave a Reply

