Vintage Alden’s Catalog from 1953

Somehow over the past few months I’ve added vintage catalogs to the list of things I collect obsess over. I sort of sat on the outskirts for a long while, stalking eBay for 1920s and 1930s catalogs that ended up selling for way too much money. Then a few weeks ago while the fam was at The Needle, Chas pointed out a 1953 Alden’s Catalog for $6 and we brought it home with us.

One of the lovely things about this particular catalog is that the original blank order form and return envelope managed to stay inside the catalog for nearly 60 years, loosely tucked between two of the pages.

1953 Aldens Catalog Dresses“Gay, cool “shortalls” with matching whirl-wide skirts!” Very lovely matching separates. This catalog was from the year my dad was born, and I like to imagine my grandmother wearing something similar.

* * *

1950s Aldens Catalog BlousesBig Blouse Buys! Can I please get #51, #54, #56, & #57 in every available colorway?

* * *

Vintage Catalog Slips 1950sGlamour Cottons? Yes, please!

* * *

Aldens Bras Panties and Lingerie 1950sVintage lingerie! The plaid sets are my favorite.

* * *

Vintage Aldens Mens Clothing 1950sAnd last but not least, a little something for the dudes. I would like to say I imagine my grandfather wearing something like this, but I only ever saw him in forest green work coverall jumpsuits—no joke!

9 Responses to Vintage Alden’s Catalog from 1953

  1. deer donna says:

    oh they are soo gorgeous! i love the dress with the pockets soo much!

  2. What fun! I always enjoy seeing your vintage finds. Nice bumping into you the other day, BTW.
    Jennifer

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      It was good finally meeting you in person, too! I love how Ethel brings all the crafty ladies together in Portland :)

  3. Mom says:

    I used to order clothing for Nancy and Mike in the 70’s from Alden’s! I liked their stuff. I think I orderd from them until the late 70’s.

  4. Fred says:

    Is there any drum set in that catalog? frgi6@aol.com

  5. Carolyn says:

    I’m looking for a particular item in the Alden’s 1953 Christmas catalog for a friend. It was a doll that came with a suitcase and clothes. I’ve looked, and looked…….can’t seem to find anything. Could you please help? Thank you.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Hi Carolyn. I don’t have the 1953 Alden’s Christmas catalog. The one I have is clothing only, and looks like it was for spring. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

