Welcome 2011

{Vintage stereoscope card of the Full Moon. A present I bought for my husband this Xmas}

Happy New Year! It’s 2011. Doesn’t that seem futuristic somehow? It feels that way to me, for sure.

In the spirit of new beginnings, it’s been a week filled with cleaning and organizing around my house. It always feels good to go through everything, unloading items no longer needed or wanted, and then putting all the keepers neatly away in their places. It’s a good way to start the new year.

In general, I’m not a fan of wintertime. January always seems to be a long, barren month filled with frozen fingertips and wind-whipped faces. Early sunsets. Dark Mornings. To me, January is a dreary, boring month that has the misfortune of following a cheerful, celebratory December.

This year, though, it’s my goal to enjoy January a little more than usual. I plan on hugging my family a little closer, staying cozy*, drinking plenty of hot coffee, keeping busy with school projects, and planning out a spring line of goodies filled with wondrous things that ignite the imagination and speak to the soul.

What are you planning for the start of the new year?

* Good thing I have some new sweater dresses and wool tights!
2 Responses to Welcome 2011

  1. Lisa says:

    Sounds good to me! :D
    Hey, my friend Megin gave us all FlapperGirl products for Xmas that she got from you at the Crafty Wonderland show in Portland! YAY!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Yeah! I met Megan and another awesome lady (can’t remember her name) at Crafty Wonderland, and they had mentioned something about their Seattle friends, and then they said, “Yeah, Lisa, Lisa, and Sarah…” And I was all, “OMG! Are you talking about Doll Sluts!? I know Lisa Lomano!” It was so funny! She bought a bunch of my flapper ornaments. They were so rad and nice. I loved meeting them. :D

Leave a Reply

