Currently Digging


VINTAGE YEARBOOKS
Years ago I acquired a 1956 yearbook at an estate sale, and I actually used some of the images from this gem to make a pretty rad personal porfolio website (screen shot above) for one of my classes last quarter. Ever since then, I’ve become sort of obsessed with vintage yearbooks.

Over Christmas, I was able to score a few old yearbooks on the cheap*. I have three of them coming my way, and I’m so stoked:
1938 Northeast High School Yearbook (Kansas City, MO)
1928 Tamaqua High School Yearbook (Tamaqua, PA)
1934 Radford High School Yearbook (Radford, VA)

All the graphics and photos look really awesome in all these. I will be sure to share the highlights with you on this little bloggy-blog.

{source}

BELTS
I was a late bloomer when it came to incorporating belts into my wardrobe. I guess I only thought of them as apparatuses that held one’s pants up and nothing more—a weird accessory that added unsightly bulk under one’s shirt at the waist, and therefore must be avoided at all costs.

This year I discovered how a belt worn over a long shirt can break up a large patch of color quite nicely. More importantly, I learned that a belt can transform an unshapely, ho-hum dress into a sexy, playful outfit. Which brings me to the next thing I’m digging the hell out of…

{source}

SWEATER DRESSES
I found a soft, lovely grayish-taupe sweater dress at Rerun a few weeks ago. As I was trying it on in the dressing room, I mentally paired it with a black belt and fell in love. So I bought it, and I’ve been hooked ever since. There’s just something about being all snuggled up in a warm, cozy dress during wintertime that makes me very happy.

Chas bought me a few sweater dresses for Xmas, and my mom bought me one too, along with some kick-ass new black boots that complete my new favorite winter look!

What are you digging at the moment?

* December 23, 24, & 25 are some of the best days to swoop in and get some good shit on eBay for cheap. Everyone is busy visiting family and going to parties, and are away from their computers.
2 Responses to Currently Digging

  1. Krista says:

    I am totally late to the belt craze too. But it does make a simple outfit (longer shirt or dress) look more put together and has saved a lot of my clothes going to donations for at least a few weeks during my weight loss. Just cinch in the waist and I can make it work for a little bit longer.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      I’m glad I’m not alone in this :) I really don’t know what took me so long to try out belts in that way, but I’m really glad that I did!

Leave a Reply

