Terriers & Jimmy the Cab Driver

Terriers FX

My husband Chas and I have been watching a new FX show called Terriers, and we are delighted by how awesome it is. In fact, it’s our favorite show this season, and is even beating out Boardwark Empire, which I had high hopes for, but so far has been sorta meh*.

Anyway, Terriers is sort of a contemporary old-school P.I. show. It’s written really well, and has two great lead actors—Donal Logue & Michael Raymond-James. We all know Michael Raymond-James (and his mystifyingly cute crustache**) from his role as Rene on True Blood, and I remember seeing Donal Logue in Damages, as a very minor character who was maybe in two episodes. Still, even when I saw him on Damages, he looked familiar but I couldn’t place his face to any particular movie or TV show.

So last night Chas and I finally looked him up on IMDB, and suddenly everything clicked. Its turns out that Donal Logue was the guy who played the greasy, nerdy character Jimmy the Cab Driver in all those MTV promos from the mid-nineties.

I was a teenager when these came out, and watching those promos on YouTube last night brought back so many memories of staying the night at my friend Tasia’s house and watching MTV until the wee hours of the morning. My favorite Jimmy the Cab Driver promo was—and still is—the parody of Alanis Morissette’s video for Ironic.

Ha! So brilliant.

I think my new catch phrase is “It’s like going crazy when you’re already nuts.”

* I mean, it has everything going for it: Roaring ’20s setting, amazing HBO set & wardrobe designers, and Steve freaking Buscemi in the lead role, but the content has just been so boring. I’m hoping things heat up, and quick.
** I don’t know how he does it, but Michael Raymond-James actually pulls off the crustache. I guess there’s an exception to every rule, even the one about nasty crustaches.
6 Responses to Terriers & Jimmy the Cab Driver

  1. Bethany says:

    My husband and I are getting into this show, too – it’s getting better with each week! I remember him being on ER for a few years, but never would have realized he was Jimmy the Cab Driver! Hilarious!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      What other TV shows are you enjoying right now? I’m always looking for new show suggestions :)

      Watching those cab driver promos totally brought me back to that era of MTV where they actually played music videos most of the time, and feeling that sense of hope and anticipation that one of my favorite videos would be coming up next on the channel.

  2. Bethany says:

    I know…I miss the days when I discovered new bands on MTV! We’d leave it on waiting for Nirvana or NIN, but discover so many other great bands in between!

    Breaking Bad is my favorite, but of course not on now! There aren’t many shows out there that I really love…more are just on for noise while I work. Maybe that’s good?

  3. Stephanie says:

    Whaaaat?! I remember those commercials. That’s crazy! And I really liked Michael Raymond-James’s True Blood. Too bad he ended up being a skeez. I’ll have to check out Terriers once we have the tube hooked back up.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      “Too bad he ended up being a skeez.” lol. Totally.

      Yes! Please check out Terriers. It’s soooo good. Despite the many stellar reviews it’s getting, not many people are watching it, so I’m scared it’s going to get canceled. :(

      Oh! And you can also watch it on Hulu if you want :)

Leave a Reply

