What’s In Store for Fall & Winter

I have a little less than two weeks left of my summer vacation. I’ve been walking a fine line between making sure I relax and visit my friends while I can, and getting as much Flapper Girl business done while I have unlimited free time. I’m sure my last week of vacation (next week), I will surrender to that little voice in my head that’s saying, “OMG! Work your ass off!” and have one last pedal-to-the-metal production week before the school year kicks off.

The winter line is starting to gel in my head, and I’m very excited! I feel like I’ve finally grasped the best way to plan seasonal lines, after experimenting with it the past three years.

So here’s what I’ve got cooking for winter:

• I’m bringing back a few apron designs from last year and adding one, possibly two new ones.

• There will be two sets of seasonal cupcake picks. One will be a Retro Christmas theme, the other will be a Winter Flapper set.

• There will be two, possibly three winter garland designs. One will be winter-themed and will incorporate silvers, blue, snow, and a saucy flapper on a sled. The other will be Christmas-themed and incorporate vintage photographs and other retro Christmas ephemera. The possible third design is still up in the air. I have a few ideas of what I’d like to do, I just need to see if I can make any of these ideas happen.

• Ribbon, crepe, and paper Flapper Tree Ornaments!

Next week I need to make a run for some supplies to get crackin’ on all these plans, and I’m thrilled in a very geeky sort of way to look at and pick out paper for many of these projects.

Have any of you started thinking about or planning your winter and Xmas crafts? I’d love to hear what your plans are.

Back to the season at hand for a second, I’m super excited to be participating in this year’s Portland Halloween Bazaar! For those of you who are local and adore Halloween, but have never been to this event, I implore you to please check it out. Last year was my first time at this show, and I had an absolute blast. There were so many talented vendors, and so many cool Halloween goodies to oogle over.

I have been nerding out hardcore over making my displays for this event, and I can’t wait to set everything up on the big day. I also have a few lovely Halloween items up my sleeve that will only be available at this event. So mark your calendars now and come out to the Oaks Park Pavillion for some spooky fun on October 10.

In other news, I have a few non-seasonal garland designs brewing in this ol’ noggin’ of mine that I’m jazzed about, and I hope to make them happen soon as well.

Whew! Just for good measure, I’m going to end this post with a very enthusiastic “Booya!”

Leave a Reply

