Quinoa & Roasted Vegetables

Quinoa & Roasted Veggies

Mmmm. I have been eating a lot of quinoa & roasted veggies lately. It’s an inexpensive, super quick and easy dish to make, and it’s big enough for two meals. So if you’ve been curious about trying quinoa, but haven’t been sure what to make, this recipe is the perfect starting point.

I use this recipe as a basic base, and then tweak it to my liking. The last time I made it, I went through the spice cupboard and starting smelling all the spices, adding the ones that smelled like they went well together to both the quinoa broth and balsamic dressing.

Sure, that’s a dangerous way to gamble with cooking, but in this instance I got lucky and it turned out deliciously for me.

My parents’ garden is producing a lot of zucchini, yellow squash, and rainbow carrots right now, and my parents have been giving us the veggies they can’t use. So I’ve been making this dish with those veggies instead of the ones it calls for in the recipe, and let me tell ya, it’s fantastic.

Do you have any yummy quinoa recipes to share? I’m always looking for new things to make with it.

2 Responses to Quinoa & Roasted Vegetables

  1. Stephanie says:

    I tried to make quinoa once but it never cooked up/ or absorbed the broth. I haven’t tried it since. But they have it at a little place in Shepherdstown WV that I like to go to. It’s usually with diced tomato and cucumber…served cold. Yum! I think I will have to try it again with the recipe you shared…it sounds really good. I like couscous too…super quick and easy.

  2. Cory says:

    That’s how you’re supposed to cook! Raid the spice cabinet and use what’s growing at the time! There is no danger in that. Okay, there is no danger unless you go a little overboard on the spices. Then again, adding a little cinnamon or cardamom to the roasted veggies would probably go over well if you used rosemary, thyme and sage. Just saying, food experimentation leads to great discoveries.

Leave a Reply

