Back to School Week: More Stories From Junior College

Joining the college newspaper back in 2005 was the first time I participated in a club-like class since junior high (when I played the clarinet for the concert band* for a few years). The newspaper group was a small, motley crew of writers, whom I enjoyed working with and getting to know.

My childhood best friend joined this class too, and it was fun to see her three times a week and brainstorm story ideas with her. Writing was something we had been doing together since we were kids, so it was a blast to be working with her at the school newspaper.

I have a lot of fond memories of hanging out with my writer pals in the newsroom.

During my last quarter of community college, I took my final science requirement with two of my friends I worked with at the school newspaper. We took Meteorology together, and I remember being thankful and extremely happy to have a few friends in that class to help me survive—and even somewhat enjoy—the very boring, dry science class that was Meteorolgy. I don’t know how I would have survived that class without my pals. I think at that point I was just burnt out, tired, and excited to be graduating.

I attempted to use humor to get through the boredom, and this is what I think of when I think of that class:

I even wrote a few Meteorology haikus during an especially excruciating lecture:

Harsh and beastly cloud
Thunderhead of dismal doom
Cummulonimbo

Why is the sky blue?
Brute red light bullies the blue
Frightened, it scatters

Frosty crysosphere
Glistening majestically
Home to Santa Claus

King water vapor
Boasts his importance to Earth
Mighty greenhouse gas


But I think my greatest work of genius from that class came in the form of a very nerdy joke I made up:

Q: What did the trophosphere say to the surly stratosphere?
A: Shut your ozone hole!

Ha!

* Nerd!
4 Responses to Back to School Week: More Stories From Junior College

  1. Susan says:

    A fellow nerd! I played the clarinet in high school. Marching band and concert. The nerdiness abounded!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Nice!

      I always hated it when a reed would accidentally get moldy on the mouthpiece. So stinky! Yeah, sometimes I would get a little lazy about *always* taking the reed off after band class. Not such a good idea over, say, Xmas break, when I was also lazy about practicing. Heh heh.

      I switched to playing drums when I was 14 or so, but decided to learn to play the whole kit (instead of just a single drum like a bass, timpani, or snare at school), and was lucky enough to have parents who were up for paying for private lessons. I loved playing the drums so much more than the clarinet, and I was always really excited about practicing.

  2. Ashley Vance says:

    This is so funny! I did similar things in philosophy because I was pretty much lost during all he lectures :(

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      The other class that was incredibly boring for me was Archaeology. I think the teacher and his style of teaching had a lot to do with how much I hated that class, though. He was really bitter about life, assigned way too much reading, and looked like a cross between a snake and a muppet.

Leave a Reply

