Swan Brooch

Well, I did a test run of the paper and fabric brooch design I was talking about yesterday, and I’m happy to report that I love the results!

The paper parts are protected with a light spray varnish. I was halfway expecting the varnish to melt them into pulp, but actually the little paper bits kept their papery texture beautifully! Does this have anything to do with the even coat I was able to apply due to the steady hand I’ve acquired from months of practice with spray mount in school? Possibly.

Of course, while the coat of enamel will help protect the paper parts from the elements, this isn’t the type of brooch I’d want to stick on the lapel of my wool peacoat in the middle of winter. No, this brooch design is made for adorning those clothing staples that are protected under heavy outerwear like dresses, blouses, and of course my favorite—cardigans!

4 Responses to Swan Brooch

  1. Stephanie says:

    Gorgeous! I love all of the textures of it and think they are going to sell like mad!

  2. Jess says:

    these are great!

Leave a Reply

