Making A Wholesale Catalog For Your Crafty Business

Look Book Catalog Tutorial

Have you ever wanted to make a little catalog or look book for your crafty business? This was one of my goals for the summer, and I’m happy to report that I was able to cross it off my list before leaving for Chicago last week.

What I wanted was a little booklet that had both products and pricing, as well as a bit of info about me and my business. Before I sat down to plan out my catalog, I did a little research and found this tutorial by Jennifer Perkins of Naughty Secretary Club, and this article by Justine Smith. Both gave me very helpful tips to get me started outlining the pages of my catalog.

For the cover, I knew I needed to capture my audience’s attention, but also keep it simple. I decided to use a photo of my most popular item, the Vintage Camera Garland. I made sure that my logo was on the cover as well.

The first page inside the catalog is a little introduction about what Flapper Girl is, followed by my wholesale & consignment policies, and then a quick thank you to the reader for taking the time to look at my catalog.

The second page is dedicated solely to my contact information, so it can be easily found if someone wants to contact me about carrying my line in their boutique. I also included a photo of myself because people like to put a face to a name, and I also wanted to let them know that there is human being behind my business.

On the next spread, I included a list of boutiques that currently carry my line. Oftentimes business owners want to know what other boutiques carry your goods—especially the ones located in the same city they’re in. Plus, listing the places that carry your goods gives you cred! It shows that people want to buy your stuff.

The following page has a few press quotes on it. The press page can be handled so many different ways. You can include covers of the magazines or the logos of blogs you’ve been featured in. You can scan in the actual articles about your business. There are a lot of options. I got sort of stuck here, especially since the size of my booklet is small, and I didn’t have much room for any photos. That’s when my husband suggested I just keep it simple and pull a few of my favorite press quotes. This worked out perfect for me, but you should choose the method that works best for you.

After I made sure all the important info about my business was covered, I began showing off the different goods I make, and including the important facts about each item, including wholesale price, retail price, sizes, colors, patterns, and anything else that is important.

For example, I let my reader know that my ruffle bum knickers are made from mostly reclaimed and vintage materials, making each pair of knickers are one-of-a-kind.

When it came to the layout of my paper garland line, I decided that a quick introduction was in order first, then I could showcase each garland design on its own page.

The most important thing to do when making your own catalog, though, is getting a second pair of eyes! I went through many rounds of edits with this booklet. When you think you are done, print it out and have someone else look at it—someone you trust to help you make the best catalog possible. That means enlist the help of someone who can say, “This part doesn’t make sense to me, ” or “Hey, I think you should include {insert great idea here},” or even, “Dude, your business name is spelled wrong on page three!” Then make those edits, print it out, and look it over with your buddy again. Repeat until you know your catalog is the best it can be.

After all, you want to make sure that a) Everything inside your catalog is clear and the reader knows what he or she is looking at, and b) That your catalog looks professional, so you make a great first impression with your future customers!

2 Responses to Making A Wholesale Catalog For Your Crafty Business

  1. Katie says:

    Wow – it looks great! Thank you so much for sharing the how-to info. I hope it brings you many sales!

Leave a Reply

