Chicago: Cool Finds

Today I want to share a few highlights from Chicago, including some neat places we found, and awesome souvenirs I brought home with me.

We ended up spending quite a bit of time on Clark Street in Andersonville. It boasts quite a few awesome antique stores, including Scout, Brimfield, Roost, and Room Service. There was another great antique store we went to on Clark Street, but I didn’t catch the name. I think it might have been Brownstone Antiques.

Vintage Oil Can
I picked up this antique oil can at Room Service.

I think the biggest hit on Clark Street, though, was a little shop called Foursided. This place was so amazing! They had so much vintage ephemera, and most of it was completely reasonable. We spent a long time combing through everything.

Vintage Ephemera from Foursided
A peek at my loot from Foursided.

I’ve been collecting some really awesome bits and pieces to make a vintage-inspired astronomy garland and I was so excited when Foursided ended up having the perfect pieces I needed to be able to complete my design!

And those vintage movie monster cards!? *swoon*

We also hit up a few antique malls on Broadway—Edgewater and BAM. Both were really awesome.

Vintage Tray
A surprise from Chas! This lovely vintage tin tray from Edgewater.
Vintage Rouge Pot
A vintage rouge pot I found at BAM. It’s unused, and even came with its original mini puff applicator.

I noticed that so many of the antique stores we visited in Chicago have tons of unused vintage restaurant ware. I recognized some of the patterns, but others I had never seen before. I’m not sure why Chicago has a plethora of unused vintage restaurant ware, but if I had to take a guess it would be that perhaps a lot of it was manufactured in the midwest (I did notice that one of the mugs I bought has “MADE IN OHIO” stamped across the bottom), and when those companies went under, or got rid of old patterns, it was sold off in mass quantities for cheap. If anyone out there knows anything about this, let me know. I’m very curious about it.

One of my favorite places we found that had vintage restaurant ware was P.O.S.H. They had so much of it, and it was reasonably priced. They also had a clearance section, where you could get bowls and plates for only $2 each. I brought home two awesome restaurant ware coffee mugs from P.O.S.H.

Gray Pink Restaurant Ware Mug

Vintage Gray Restaruatnt Ware Mug

I mentioned yesterday that we visited the Field Museum, which is amazing. They have a huge collection of dinosaur skeletons, a ton of artifacts from Ancient Egypt, taxidermy animals and skeletons, and a lot of other stuff we were unable to see because we ran out of time.

Skeleton Pin
I brought home this little guy from the Field Museum gift shop!

I really loved this city! Next time we go to Chicago, we must definitely see the International Museum of Surgical Science; make it to the Textile Discount Outlet when they are open (seriously, this is the only retail business I’ve ever known to be closed on Saturdays!); and take the Architectural Boat Tour.

7 Responses to Chicago: Cool Finds

  1. Stephanie says:

    The International Museum of Surgical Science sounds neat. I want to visit the Mutter Museum the next time I am in Philly. http://www.collphyphil.org/MUTTER.ASP

    I am loving that tin tray and the little pink elephants…so cute. Can’t wait to see what you make with your ephemera!

  2. Cori says:

    i love the field museum so much! next time i go i am going to have to check out all the stores you mentioned! especially the vintage restaurant ware. man, do i love me some restaurant ware.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      The field museum was so awesome! I wish Nattie could have been there to see it all, but we’ll be sure to take her next time.

      I thought you might like vintage restaurant ware! ;) Yeah, there was tons of it. I was very much in awe of the selection and prices.

      I can’t wait to go back to check out the International Museum of Surgical Science. It looks so so so awesome. I wish we would have done that instead of going way down to Pilsen to the big discount fabric store, which was closed. We didn’t think about checking to see if they were open, though, because what kind of store is CLOSED on a Saturday? Apparently Discount Textile Outlet o_O

  3. Cori says:

    we kept running into that issue in San Francisco, but it was on a Monday and a Tuesday, so I guess I can understand? maybe? weird though! is the museum of surgical science in chicago?! that sounds awesome!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Yep! Museum of Surgical Science is in Chicago. I’m really looking forward to seeing it next time :)

  4. deer donna says:

    oh my lord i have just looked back a million pages through your amazing world/blog and i am blown away at how cute you and your family are, and your designs and everything really! hello, i am deer donna, by the way!

    <3

    i will be back! you have a new fan!

Leave a Reply

