Easy Faux Key Lime Pie

Lime Pie

I finally made something from my vintage Joys of Jell-O Cookbook. Well, actually two things. A few weeks ago I made Lemon Pudding Squares (delicious), and this weekend I made Light ‘n Fruity Pie (also delicious).

Here is the recipe for the pie:
1 – 3oz pkg. Jell-O in any flavor. I used lime, hence the title “Easy Faux Key Lime Pie.”
2/3 cup boiling water
2 cups ice cubes
1 – 8oz. pkg whipped topping
1 – baked graham cracker crust

Dissolve the Jell-O completely in boiling water, stirring three minutes. Add the ice cubes and stir constantly until the Jell-O is thickened, about 2 to 3 minutes. Remove any unmelted ice with a spoon. Blend in the whip topping and whip until smooth and completely blended with the Jell-O. Spoon the mixture into the pie crust and chill for two hours.

That’s it! It’s super quick and easy.

As with any Jell-O dish, the secret is in making sure the gelatin dissolves properly, which means two things: 1. Be sure to use water that is at a full, rapid boil, and 2. Although it’s really boring, be sure to constantly stir when indicated. I remember being a kid and finding those rubbery bits at the bottom of the Jell-O cups my mom made. It still grosses me out just thinking about it, but it makes me a determined, champion Jell-O stirrer.

For more vintage Jell-O recipe fun, be sure to check out my pal Theresa’s blog, The Joys of Jell-O.

2 Responses to Easy Faux Key Lime Pie

  1. Theresa says:

    Ekkk! You made something from The Joys of Jell-O cookbook! I’m so proud of you. I’m glad you found it delicious~
    T

Leave a Reply

