More Vintage Halloween Photos

Awhile ago, I made a post about my current search for vintage Halloween photos. The process has been going well, and I’ve even been able to acquire a few really fabulous images. More about those later this summer, though.

Today I want to share some pretty rad photos I’ve found recently, but didn’t purchase because they fell into one of these categories: a) too expensive, b) forever lost when I forgot to place my bid in time, or c) simply not useful for the project I’m planning.

You can click on each image to be taken to its eBay listing. A few of these are still active auctions.

Vintage Halloween Lion Leopard

I see this leopard costume pretty frequently in old Halloween photos on eBay. I love it, and this is the first time I’ve seen the mask and body suit worn together as a whole. The shadow of the mom-figure taking the picture is really great, as is the old house in the background.

* * *

Vintage Halloween Party

Even though the auction for this item is over, I still recommend checking out its eBay auction page because the seller posted a few hi-res shots of the various Halloween details in this image. I really covet the Halloween decor!

* * *

Vintage Kids Halloween Costumes

Three great costumes! I love them all for different reasons. The cat is adorable. The Sea Hag scores many enthusiastic WTF-THIS-IS-SO-WEIRD-BUT-SO-AWESOME points. The cowboy is rad, too. I can’t tell if he’s supposed to be a specific culture personality or just a generic cowboy. Anyone recognize this character?

* * *

Vintage Girl with Pumpkin

I think my fondness for this image has a lot to do with the fact that it reminds me of this photo I took of Nattie when she was five. Plus, the hat is super fantastic.

* * *

Halloween Party Skeleton Vintage

The skeleton is pretty damn adorable, and I wish I had that wallpaper in the background.

* * *

Vintage Halloween Party

I really dig all the small details of this photo. First, there’s the Halloween decor. That tablecloth is amazing, and I like the skeleton at the top of the image. Then, all three costumes are great too. I especially like that pirate’s ensemble. And that cowgirl is really pretty.
5 Responses to More Vintage Halloween Photos

  1. Katie says:

    These are great! I especially love the “sea hag.” It is so interesting to see how things have changed, and how they have stayed the same.

  2. trudy callan says:

    I wanted to thank you for taking the time to enter my Sew Mama Sew Giveaway. It was so crazy with so many blogs to visit that I don’t think very many of us really had a chance to really take a good look at the blogs we visit. So I would like to invite you to come back and look around and see if you like my blog; and if you do, consider signing up as a follower and/or putting my blog on your blog roll so that you can keep up with me better. I would also encourage you to visit my daughters’ blogs. Emily, Age 9, of Super Stitches http://www.sewingsister.blogspot.com and Kimberly, Age 17, of What To Wear http://www.w0wiloveit.blogspot.com

    By the way, you have a lovely blog. Those are awesome pictures. I love looking at old pictures.

    I looking forward to hearing from you.

    Trudy Callan
    Sewing With Trudy
    http://www.sewingwithtrudy.blogspot.com
    and my art blog:
    http://www.artisticcreationswithtrudy.blogspot.com

  3. diana says:

    i love the first one! the shadow adds a little creepy to an otherwise sweet pic.

  4. Stephanie says:

    The Sea Hag reminds me of the witch masks the kids wear on the classic Charlie Brown cartoon about the Great Pumpkin. I guess that’s what witches and hags looked like back then!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      You know, I thought that sea hag costume looked really familiar to me, and you’re right—it looks just like the mask Lucy wears in the Great Pumpkin! That makes me like this photo even more.

Leave a Reply

