Feelin’ A Little Grouchy

So as I sit down to write my weekly Tuesday post about stuff I’m really digging at the moment, I find that I can’t really get past the fact that I’m feeling pretty grumpy and uninspired. Hey, I’m tired. This quarter at school is demanding and rigorous already, and it’s only going to ramp up the further I get into it; the weather is cold, windy, and damp; and my horoscope says Mercury’s in retrograde.

I’m just exhausted.

In general, I’m a really upbeat person, and anyone who knows me will vouch that I have a positive outlook on life, and practice gratitude on a daily basis. Sometimes, though, you just gotta vent a little. So I’m going to do that. Here’s some crap I want to complain about.

• Drawing with Charcoals. I’m taking an Intro to Drawing class this term at school, and we are working with charcoals. It sucks so bad! It’s messy and gross, and I hate having no control over what I’m drawing because charcoals are so clunky. And when the charcoals get to the size of tiny nubs, drawing with them makes my hand cramp up and it hurts my wrist.

• Rude Teenagers. Time to get my granny pants on, because yes, I’m about to complain about teenagers. I live about two blocks away from a high school. Every morning on my way to the train I have to pass by herd after herd of teenagers walking to school. They form huge masses that take up the entire width of the sidewalk, and refuse to move out of the way to let anyone by. In the afternoons, as soon as the train pulls up, they rush the doors before the passengers waiting to get off can exit the train.

I remember being a teenager and being rebellious, but I don’t remember being rude to strangers in public like that. If I was, I’d like to take the time now to sincerely apologize. Sorry if I acted that way world—if that’s the case, I was a total douche bag.

• This Crappy Weather. It’s been in the 40s and low 50s for days now. Dark. Grey. Rainy. Windy as hell. Wintry, really. The kind of weather that makes your hands numb if they’re not in gloves or coat pockets when you’re walking around outside. It’s April, and I’ve been wearing a scarf and a heavy wool coat, for goodness sake! I’m ready for less rain and higher temperatures.

So that’s that.

What’s got your goat these days? Want to complain about something? I’m here to listen.

I feel like I should end this post with a quick list of things I’m really grateful for. Because really, as fun as it is to rant sometimes, nothing quite cures a grumpy mood like realizing there’s so many good things in my life. I’ve been keeping a gratitude journal for about a year, and I try to write in it everyday. Here’s what I got today:

Today I am grateful for…
• My wonderful husband and our amazing relationship.
• My sweet daughter & her quirky sense of humor.
• The opportunity to go back to school at a real university and study something that I’m falling in love with more each day.
• The opportunity to be creative and share what I create with the world.
• You! Thank you for stopping by my blog today. I’m glad you want to read what I write and check out what I create.
• Hot licorice spice tea (which I have been addicted to lately).

<3 <3 <3

11 Responses to Feelin’ A Little Grouchy

  1. CatLady says:

    Hi There

    I know what you mean abiout the rudeness of teenagers. Not the same as when I was young either.

    Add this to your “be thankful list” Be glad that you can walk and talk and feel and have control over your body. I have had MS for the past almost 40 years and it is so hard not to feel sorry for myself. But then I think of a woman I used to work for-she was blind but she went from a nursing home to her own apartment, attended a school for the blind-learned to do things that we sighted people take for granted. She even got married (though it’s my personal opinion in that case she could be glad that she was blind) }:-]

    Whenever I begin to feel low I think of this wonderful woman and use her for inspiration (she is deceased now). If she could have a bright outlook with all her problems-who am I to be upset just because I can no longer walk? I have an electric wheelchair, pretty good health, I live close to my family and my grandchildren, I am not in a nyrsing home. Life is good. It may not be perfect but it is good!

    CatLady

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Hi! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful & inspiring story. I’m always amazed at how us human beings can be so resilient, despite our various challenges. Sending much love and light to you and yours. Thank you so much for reading my blog and sharing on here :) xoxo

  2. Cory says:

    Thanks for the laugh this morning, I really needed it! I mean… I don’t… it’s not that… Oh hell, sometimes it’s nice to read about somebody else’s bad days once in a while, but I think it’s great you added the little bit at the end for what you are grateful for. Writing is a wonderful way to vent out your frustrations, at least I find it is, and I love reading your blog!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Thanks Cory! I love reading your blog too. Even if I don’t always leave comments, I read it every day and enjoy hearing about what’s been going on in your life. I was telling my husband the other day how it’s really wonderful to read your blog, and find the similarities we have in our personalities. Genetics is a crazy, amazing thing. Love you! xoxo

  3. Aww, Christine. I have been a bit grumpy this week too! Your garlands and cute creations cheer me up, though! :) And the Oregon weather is icky, but at least we live in OREGON!!!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Thanks Heather! Your comment made me smile :) And I agree about the Oregon thing. The weather can be daunting, but we’re in beautiful, green, eco-conscious, indie-loving, super liberal Oregon. And I am very grateful for that too.

  4. Yeah- I sometimes feel the same about teenagers now- my granny pants and yours are in agreement. Even when I WAS a kid, I bitched about kids. I got a lot of funny looks. Living near a highschool AND a mall- that’s like the perfect storm. I dunno how you do it.

    Charcoals- oh- the rage. I love them when I’m in the mood for them- and when I’m drawing on really BIG surfaces, but even though they’re fun, my pictures always look like they were made by a two-year old. I much prefer charcoal pencils- something with a grip- and as I discovered in grade school- my skin is allergic to the stuff and I get papery blisters when I use them. It doesn’t hurt, but it’s freaky. I don’t know if I’m still allergic- I always get the pencils now, though I do have a spare set of the brick-things about somewhere.. hmm. I should try them again sometime.

    The weather.
    Even IIIIIII am ready for a sunny day.
    Me!
    That’s saying something.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      It’s kinda funny. Since we live a few blocks behind the school, we never really see teenagers by the house (which I am EXTREMELY grateful for), but if we want to take the MAX, hoo boy, that’s another story.

      lol. “Charcoals–oh the rage.” Yep. Pretty much sums it up. I have super sensitive hands, and I’ve been wearing gloves while working with charcoals this whole time. I just have a sneaking suspicion they would totally make my hands break out in a rash, since my hands love to “rash out” over just about anything. I have to be super careful that I always wear gloves when I was dishes, and I’m always smearing on the heavy-duty lotion.

  5. you should make an rss feed btw- I don’t know how to do that- but I would subscribe to you if you had one. Just sayin is all.

    BTW. Nattie’s drawing (which is UNSPEAKABLY AWESOME) is up on my locker at work, and totally dominates the door to my closet. I see it every time I go to open the thing. It’s fantastic, and will stay there (right next to the black death iron on) forever and ever and ever. I will send a pic soon.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      I wish I knew more about RSS feeds. I use Google Reader, and I can put any blog on there. In fact, YOUR blog is on my Google Reader RSS feed!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Also, I’m glad you liked the drawing! I will be sure to tell Nattie. And yes, please send a pic soon! :) HUGS!!

Leave a Reply

