School: Week One

Well, I made it through the first week of spring quarter at school. I just took a photo of myself to show you all how exhausted I look, but I think the screen flash in this Photobooth program washed out the bags under my eyes. If you take another look, you’ll see ’em, trust me.

It’s going to be an interesting quarter. I’m taking typography, intro to drawing, and design studio II . The design studio class meets once a week on Fridays and it is seven hours long. There’s supposed to be a one-hour break in there, but I ended up working through it today.

Our first in-class assignment was to tell a story in five panels using no words and our choice of creatures for the characters. My friend Noel and I used caterpillars to illustrate the story of the Heaven’s Gate Cult. Very dark and grim, I know, but that’s just how we rolled. I must say that our project turned out really rad. The final panel in the series even depicted a group of butterflies following the Hale-Bop Comet. It was a relief to see the class and our professor appreciate a little dark humor.

So now we have to take what we have and tell the story in a different medium. I think I’m going to make a garland using paper and embroidery on fabric. I have a few specifics rolling around in my head, but I need to do some more research and make some sketches.

For now, though, the weekend is about to start—but not before I take a little nap!

One Response to School: Week One

  1. Diana says:

    Lookin’ smart there missy ;) I want to see those panels!

Leave a Reply

