I Like You Theresa Rohrer

T Accordian
Name: Theresa Louise Rohrer. But people call me “T.”

Location: I was born in the exciting little town of Boring, Oregon, but I am currently in Portland.

How we met: Come to think of it, I’m not entirely sure I’ve ever met you in person… I may have met you at Crafty Wonderland, but that day is kinda a blur. I guess I met you on Facebook.

Giant JelloWhat you do: There are lots of things I do in life, however I don’t have any one major focus. I like my life to be filled with variety, but never to the point of exhaustion. I enjoy being creative, reading a good book while drinking tea on a rainy day, sewing, drawing, looking at little distant fuzzy things in the night sky with my telescope, watching things grow in our apartment garden, knitting scarves and arm warmers, playing the accordion, calligraphy, collecting fortunes from fortune cookies, and creating magnificent towers of Jell-O… Is sleeping a bad answer? If not, I enjoy that too.

I also co-run an etsy store called Doormouse Designs with my friend Trina. However, I make my living as a graphic designer, and I love it!

What inspires you most when you create: Lawrence Welk, the smell of a cooking pie, a hot cup of black tea, clouds, browsing through 1940-50-60’s magazines and cookbooks, watching old black and white movies (especially for the clothes), and anything drawn by Ed Emberly.

List of 5 things you’re digging at the moment:

HANDWRITING: I’ve been really into handwriting lately. I have always had terrible handwriting so, a few months ago I decided I was going to change it. It wasn’t easy, and it took a lot of work, but I finally managed to turn it into something I can be proud of.

HandwritingEver since then, I’ve been infatuated with people’s handwriting. I love looking to see how people’s handwriting reflects who they are, and then I found the best thing since sliced bread at the used book store: Handwriting Analysis: The Art and Science of Reading Character by Graphic Analysis.

Now, I’m not sure how scientifically accurate this book is, but it certainly is fascinating. I have learned that supposedly, people who write at an angle are more emotional than people who right straight up and down. And it claims that people who cross their t’s at the top have very high goals while people who cross their t’s low, toward the bottom, are content with what they have in life. These are just two examples of hundreds this book contains of letter meanings. I’ve really enjoyed reading it.

MOSS: Since there aren’t not many flowers in the winter, I’ve had to start picking moss instead. I’m always amazed at all the different types of moss and lichen there are, and they look great in little rock filled terrariums.

WINSTON CHURCHILL: Last week, I finally finished the second volume of the Winston Churchill biography by William Manchester, and it appears the third volume is coming out sometime next year. Until then I’ve been scouring used book stores and the Internet trying to glean more information. It’s one of those rare books which I felt actually made me a better person for reading it.

And recently, I’ve found myself subconsciously quoting Churchill. He really does have some marvelous quotes such as:

“If you cannot read all your books, at any rate handle, or as it were, fondle them — peer into them, let them fall open where they will, read from the first sentence that arrests the eye, set them back on the shelves with your own hands, arrange them on your own plan so that you at least know where they are. Let them be your friends; let them at any rate be your acquaintances.” ~ Winston Churchill

MAIL: Lately, I’ve actually been excited to get the mail. I’ve always loved getting mail, not bills or junk, but real mail, like postcards and letters. I really wish people would go back to sending real mail. It’s much prettier than e-mails, and I can magnet them to my frig. (Plus, if they’re handwritten, I can look at their handwriting.)

CARAMELIZED ONIONS: Awhile ago I got a giant bag of onions for $1.50 and after that, I found out just how swell onions really are. I especially like them caramelized in browned butter. They have been in all my soups, stews and pastas recently ,and I even made some of the best french onion soup I’ve ever had. If you have never tried caramelized onions before, I highly recommend them.

Leave a Reply

