Defining My Voice

Battie Bat GirlIn one of my design studio classes this quarter, my professor keeps asking us what we are trying to say through our work. He has tried to help each of us define our unique voices.

A few weeks ago I had to write a three-part paper that touched on the topics of what design is, how I became a designer, and my voice. I found the first two parts easier than the third. It’s really hard to figure out such a nebulous concept*, but I really liked what I ended up writing, so I thought I’d share:

* * *

Never afraid to show a little flair, I’ve tried on many identities in my life. I’ve been a punk rocker, a goth chick, a glam rocker, and even a bit of a light metalhead nerd girl. The thing I’ve learned over the years, though, is this: I can’t be shoved into a category. There are parts of me that fit into all those labels I mentioned, just as there are parts of me that fit into an unlimited number of other categories. I feel most comfortable just being me, and liking what really speaks to my soul, which is an array of beautiful, obscure eccentricities.

Always fascinated by the idea of history and past lives, I spend a lot of time combing through thrift stores and antique malls, finding inspiration in old things. Antiques are full of mystery because they have previous owners, previous experiences, previous lives. I love the thought of putting my clothes into a dresser that had once held the clothes of women of previous generations who kept their secrets hidden beneath their bras and panties. I love the thought of wearing a hat that saw a completely different world from my own, all just by being nestled on the head of a woman born so many decades before me. I love uncovering the history in objects. I like that things have a story to tell, and I always want to give those stories the respect they deserve.

I am fiercely independent, and I work hard to make sure I’m the best I can be, so I will never feel caged. I see beauty in rebellion, and I have a deep infatuation and connection with the flapper culture of the 1920s. I’ve always admired that the flappers were liberal and rebellious in a time where that sort of behavior and mindset in women were unheard of. They were strong and glamourous. They were true revolutionaries. Flappers inspire me to work hard, push boundaries, and take risks for what I believe in.

I work hard, but I make sure that I nurture my spiritual side too. I practice meditation and mindfulness, and regularly enjoy nature in order to achieve the balance I crave in this unnatural, fast-paced world we live in. I enjoy the teachings of Wayne Dyer and Deepak Chopra, and through their writings, I have learned to become a constant observer, viewing the world in a way that helps me better see relationships, connections, and the reasoning behind everything. I seek to cultivate positive energy, and I let it radiate to everyone who touches my life.

As an earth-sign Taurus, I am dependable and responsible. Friends and co-workers know they can come to me when they need someone who will really listen and give sage advice. I am honest, and they know I’ll tell it to them straight. I’m not a brash know-it-all, though. I’m open-minded, and I deliver my messages with love and kindness, because it’s important to me that I make sure people know that I truly care, and that my heart is open to connect with them and the universe around us.

* * *

*If you have figured out what your voice is saying in your work, I’m very curious to hear what you have to say about it. So please share if you feel comfortable doing so.
Leave a Reply

