Handmade Clothes For Summer

Dress Fabric

As I was straightening up my studio earlier this week, I found these awesome fabrics I had purchased many, many months ago. I remember buying each of them—the muted plaid and green striped fabrics were found at the Knittn Kitten, and the fun skull & scissors print was acquired on clearance at Fabric Depot. I also remember why I had purchased them: I was going to make myself some cute clothes.

I’ve found that as a designer, it’s the norm to have all these lofty plans for creating cool things for myself, but never getting around to making them. There are always other things that need to be done and made, and all my personal projects keep getting put on the never-ending backburner. I’m sure many of you can relate to this.

Well, I’m finally determined to do something about it! I’m setting a goal and making a plan to knock out two dresses and a skirt by July 1st. Here are the patterns (bought years ago, and still untouched) that I’m going to use:

Simplicity 4265 Sun DressSee & Sew B4897 Skirt

I keep daydreaming about turning the muted plaid fabric into a sun dress, and wearing it with my big black belt, cute black flats, and gray knee socks. The teal fabric with the skull & scissors pattern will all be made into a sun dress too. It will also look cute with the same shoes and belt, but with black tights, and a black cardigan. I will make a simple skirt out of the flowery striped green print. I haven’t imagined what I’ll wear it with yet, but sometimes it’s fun to figure all that out after you have a completed project in your hands.

So I have the goal—these will be done by July 1. What’s the plan? I will cut out the patterns and fabrics this weekend, and then I will set aside 30 minutes to an hour a week to work on these. July 1 is exactly 20 weeks away. Considering the patterns are not complicated at all, I should be able reach my goal in a total of 10-20 hours. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Wish me luck!

4 Responses to Handmade Clothes For Summer

  1. mayumi22 says:

    I loooove the muted plaid fabric! These will look awesome. I need to sew more too so I will remind you as I remind myself :)

  2. Autumn says:

    Oh I’m the same way! And I totally need some clothing too ~ so I can’t wait till I actually get around to sewing for myself. I have that same Simplicity sundress pattern too just waiting to be worn ~ good luck with self care! lol.

    I love your blog by the way ~ this is my first comment, but I’ve gone back & I think I’ve read the whole thing since early this year.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment. It totally made my day :)

      Let me know how your sun dress turns out! I would love to see photos when it’s finished. What fabric are you going to use?

Leave a Reply

