WIP: Pastel Retro Tulle Hostess Aprons For Spring

It seems a bit surreal, but I’ve been working on seasonal holiday projects since mid-July. First it was Halloween, then the winter holidays, and finally Valentine’s Day. It feels really weird to be working on springtime aprons that aren’t for any specific holiday. I’ll admit it’s been a nice change of pace*.

Here are some work-in-progress shots I took this morning. I wasn’t kidding, people, I’m firing up the sewing machine, and getting down to business with these spring aprons.


Cotton & tulle! So far, I have all my pockets, ties, and waist band pieces cut and ironed. I still need to iron all my tulle and cut the pieces down to size.


Here are all the pocket pieces. I love the way they look all lined up together. I’ve discovered over the past few years that I really love the way these aprons look when they’re made with gingham. I even wrote Spring 2010 is all about the gingham! in my sketchbook. I couldn’t leave out the dainty florals, though, because I love them too.


So many deer! All hand-cut. Holy smokes. Next up, I need to hand-embroider their cute little faces onto their sweet little heads.

Last night I went through my rick-rack and bias tape collections, and made a list of what I have in stock. Today I’ll head over to the Knittn’ Kitten to pick up the last bits and pieces of what I need to get cracking on these aprons. Then it’ll be time to really get down to business, and start some serious sewing.

*I will admit, though, that I have actually started designing some elements for radical vintage-inspired paper Hallowe’en garlands. I’ve also begun the brain-storming process for the entire 2010 Flapper Girl Hallowe’en collection. I know Hallowe’en is over eight months away, but I can’t help it.
Leave a Reply

