Le Weekend

We’re right in the thick of winter, and I feel like my family has really hunkered down for the season. We still do our usual Friday Family Fun Nights™, which entail my husband, daughter, and I going out and about in the world to have fun, but mostly we’ve been sticking around home for the remainder of the weekends.

I’m not complaining, though. Winter is the perfect time to get a lot of work done, before the weather starts turning nice and the days stretch out with hours of sun in the evenings. My little family always comes out of hibernation in spring, and we enjoy getting out of the house more.

I have my brain wrapped around a ton of projects right now. I spent some time last night cutting fabric for springtime aprons (more on that later in the week), and for my classes at school, I’m creating a brand system for our local newspaper, designing a set of victorian-style teratology trading cards, and designing a packaging system for an imaginary brand of candy.

I thought the candy project was going to be a piece of cake (ha! no pun intended), but it’s turning out to be a little more difficult than I thought. I’m a recovered sugaraholic, so candy was a good friend of mine for the first 25 years of my life. I still love looking at candy packaging, and I love the smell of the sweet stuff.

Anyway, my vision for this project is to create a fruit-flavored candy to be sold at local boutiques. Nothing too fancy and expensive, but something that’s a little too special to be found in the candy aisle at your local supermarket. Here is the front of the box design so far:

The images are from Girlie Free-Style Scraps, and I made the background pattern in Illustrator by making a custom pattern swatch (you can learn how to do that here).

I feel like I’ve only just begun, and I have miles to go with this project, but I’m kind of stuck. This is the first draft, and I’m learning that with graphic design, things change a lot between the first and final drafts. For now I think I need to go back and do more research, look at more examples of rad packaging, and ask my instructor and classmates for some feedback and constructive criticism.

Leave a Reply

