Creepy Vintage Carnival Goodness

Chas and I just finished watching the first season of Carnivàle last night. Can I just say that I’m loving this show? In addition to being creepy-but-not-scary which scores big points with me, once again HBO does a great job hiring their set and costume designers.

The show takes place in 1934 and there is vintage eye candy abound: old carnival trains, tarot cards, hand-painted fabric attraction banners, beautiful phonographs, art deco glass bottles, and ohmygod… the costumes! The fabrics used for the dresses worn by the character Rita Sue are particularly AMAZING!

I can feel the show’s aesthetic giving me tons of inspiration, and influencing my art. I’ve started designing a vintage-inspired carnival paper garland. I’m super excited about it, and I’ll post photos when it’s finished.

(Note: It’s done! And I love it! Check out the garland here.)

2 Responses to Creepy Vintage Carnival Goodness

  1. Oooh I LOVED Carnivale! I’m really intrigued by the traveling carnivals they used to have back then. It’s too bad the show only ran a few seasons.

    “Vintage eye candy” is right!

    I just came across your blog today and am loving it :)

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      I’m really intrigued by old carnivals too! ! I’ve read a couple of books about them; they’re always super interesting.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog :)

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

