Even More Wintry Things

I’ve started production on my winter apron line, and I get more excited with the progress every day. Everything is completely designed & cut, most of the bias tape has been sewn to the edges of all the skirt pieces, and I stitched up all the apron ties this morning. I have my felt applique patterns printed, all my rick-rack picked out, and I have a few more goodies on their way in the mail. I love being surrounded by a sea of white and blues when I work on these aprons. It’s my goal to have them finished and in the Flapper Girl Boutique by mid-November.

Working on this apron line inspired me to revisit a pursuit I initially began as a high school Freshman. In the winter of ’96, I became obsessed with finding a vintage or vintage-inspired reindeer sweater. After exhausting all avenues over a three-month period, I gave up my hardcore searching, and filed ‘awesome reindeer sweater’ away in my brain under ‘Things I Want That I Hope to Find at a Thrift Store Someday.’

Through the brilliance of subscribing to eBay searches on an RSS feeder, I was able to find and purchase this lovely jem.

313022145_tp copy

I’ve never even seen a black reindeer sweater before! *swoon* The color, design, size and price were all perfect, making this totally worth the 13-year wait.

4 Responses to Even More Wintry Things

  1. Stephanie says:

    Got the coffee cozy!! SO cute, glad you picked the pink. Thanks SO much! =) =)

  2. Jena says:

    I love this sweater! How did you get ebay to set up RSS feeds for you?

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      It’s super easy! After you search for an item, and the results come up on the screen, scroll all the way to the bottom of the page where there is a box that says “Tools.” There is an orange button that says RSS in that toolbar. Click it, and it and a page will come up where you can choose to subscribe to the search. There is a drop-down menu that says “Subscribe to this Feed Using”, where you can choose to subscribe via Google (which will be saved to your reader), Bloglines, etc. That’s it!

Leave a Reply

