Wintry Things

Last week, while on our way to participate in our Friday night tradition of browsing books at Powell’s Books, Chas put on Dungen’s Ta det lungt in the car. And I liked it. A lot. It started a conversation regarding Scandinavia, and neither of us were sure exactly which countries Scandinavia consisted of. Suddenly, it became a big puzzle in my head, and I knew it would lead me to the Purple Room within minutes of our destination.

After finding out the basic details on Scandinavia* (which seemed to be similar to the rule about vowels**), I wanted to find a nice, contemporary photo book showing what these countries looked like… but no dice! They had some older books that came close to satisfying my needs, but they didn’t quite cut it.

Even after Chas and I conducted an Amazon search when we got home, we came up empty-handed. Damn. So if any of you know of some obscure, beautiful book on Scandinavia I should check out, please let me know. While at Powell’s, I did start to read The Palace of the Snow Queen, and immediately put it on hold at the library when I got home. It seems like it’s going to be an extremely awesome story.

Anyway, I’m not sure where this interest in Scandinavian/Nordic lands is going to lead, but perhaps it will infiltrate my winter crafting and sewing, which actually excites me since it seems appropriate, and a cool direction to take.

Right now I just want to get a clear picture of the land in my head, but I might find myself digging into the history or learning more about the contemporary culture.

In other news, I finally gave into my boot lust this afternoon. I finally found a pair that meet all my requirements:

• Black
• Suede
• Full knee-hi length (17″)
• Lined with faux fur to keep my feet dry and warm
• Side zippers
• Flat soles
• Priced at a bargain

boots

Booya.

*Some sources said Scandinavia consists of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, and sometimes Finland. And if Finland is included, sometimes Iceland is included too. Other sources argued that Norway, Sweden, and Denmark are considered Scandinavia, and the term Nordic Region or Nordic Countries include Scandinavia (Norway, Sweden, Denmark) plus Finland, Iceland, and a few other island territories. Confused yet? I was. A very kind native to the area finally cleared it up for me and said that Scandinavia consists of Sweden and Norway (the countries that the mountain range Scanderna goes through), and the Nordic countries are: Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Norway and Iceland.

**AEIOU and sometimes Y

5 Responses to Wintry Things

  1. cori says:

    I am picking up The Palace of the Snow Queen today from my library. i <3 book recommendations. always.

  2. cori says:

    p.s. yay for boots! i don’t need any more pairs, but want more, so cheap is good!

  3. Sammi says:

    These boots are so cute! ^^ I’ve tried to find them but I can’t. What is the brand and where did you find them?

Leave a Reply

