Save the Knittn Kitten

kitten1lAs most of you know, my favorite indie fabric store in Portland is the Knittn Kitten. It is run by a wonderful mother/daughter team, and since the Knittn Kitten is a fabric thrift store, it sells quality crafting and sewing supplies (many of which are vintage) at amazingly inexpensive prices (yes, even the vintage stuff). There are so many reasons why I love this store. Here are just a few:

• The owners are warm, friendly people who care about their customers.
• It makes me feel good to know I’m making eco-friendly purchases by buying second-hand.
• It makes me feel good to know I’m supporting a locally-owned, independent business.
• It makes what I do with Flapper Girl possible. Seriously.

I was in there today, buying some much-needed supplies, and found out that the Kitten has hit a really rough patch this year, but especially in the last few months. The owners are starting to wonder if they are going to last through the end of the year.

Basically, if this store closes, I have no idea what I am going to do. The Knittn Kitten is a Portland gem that cannot be lost!

So please, if you are in the Portland area, think about going to to the Knittn Kitten this month and spending some of your sewing/craft supply budget there. Even spending just $5 would help out a lot. And please pass the word along to anyone else who is crafty.

They prefer checks or cash, but cards will not be turned down.

Thank you so much for reading this far, hearing me out, and helping to
save a very awesome local business.

The Knittn Kitten
7530 N.E. Glisan St.
Portland, OR. 97213
503-255-3022
Open Tuesday through Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
http://www.knittnkitten.com/

Leave a Reply

