First Cold of the Season

undertheweather200 Egads! I’ve caught some sort of horrible cold. It started out with a scratchy throat last week, and I was feeling pretty okay, so I thought I was doing a good job at getting it out of my system with garlic, Airborne, and neti flushes. Unfortunately, it finally took hold of me last night in a very bad way.

I’m really, really congested, and generally feel like death warmed over today. I hope this is the worst of it, and I’ll start to feel better tomorrow.

I just made myself a nice little natural ginger root tea (believe me, it’s more like a broth) that helps with this kind of stuff. It’s a “warming, anti-inflammatory and anti-nauseant [that] relieves head and chest congestion while staving off chills.”

The recipe is from Dr. Weil’s website.

Ingredients:
• 2 cups filtered water
• 1″ piece of peeled ginger
• 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
• 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
• 1 or 2 cloves mashed garlic
• Honey to taste

How to Make It:
Place the ginger in a pot with two cups of water. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer for five minutes. Add the cayenne pepper and simmer one minute more. Remove from heat. Add the lemon juice, mashed garlic and honey. Let cool slightly, and strain if you wish (I don’t strain it. I figure the hunks of garlic and ginger can only do more good if they simmer in my drink while I sip).

It’s a very spicy concoction, but I actually think it tastes quite nice (think Thai flavors).

Alright, back to the couch with me. I’ve got my Sookie Stackhouse novel (book #5) on my iPod, and I’m embroidering a huge batch of coffee cup cozies. At least I can still do that while resting and recuperating.

Leave a Reply

