Local Love: Rerun

I haven’t done much thrift shopping this year. Not as much as I used to, anyway. Time and money constraints will do that, I suppose.

The few times I’ve stopped into a Goodwill, though, I’ve noticed the outrageous price hikes. In fact, I heard another customer complain to a cashier about it when I popped into a Goodwill last week. And while I was hanging out with my lovely friend Diana this afternoon, she lamented the same thing.

Sure, it’s eco to shop second-hand. And I know that big thrifting corporations like Goodwill and the Salvation Army do good things. In my opinion, though, if you can combine second-hand shopping with an independently owned store, you’re doing doubly good by supporting local businesses while you save stuff from ending up in landfills. You’re more likely to get a better deal, too. When I sat down to think about it, the few locally owned thrift shops around here that I frequent most, always have cheaper prices and better stuff.

My absolute favorite thrift store in Portland is Rerun. It’s a consignment store, which means they actually pay people for what they bring in to sell, and don’t run on donations. This helps the quality of the stuff remain high, and helps people like me make a little extra cash by selling unwanted items. The price tags on everything are completely reasonable, leaning more towards the hot-damn-what-a-deal end of the spectrum.

I stopped in yesterday and picked up a few things: some lace, a pretty blue vintage porcelain container to hold some buttons, and this wonderful art deco bat girl rubber stamp by Stamp Francisco.

ArtDecoBat

I’m not usually a rubber stamp sort of gal*, but she was only three dollars, and I couldn’t pass her up. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with her yet. I’m thinking I may need to make a simple fabric ink pad and play around a little. Maybe she’ll end up on some decorations for my home this Hallowe’en. Maybe she’ll end up on a few cards.

At any rate, three bucks for a kick-ass stamp totally made my day yesterday. Thank you Rerun, for being so incredibly awesome!

*I loved rubber stamps when I was a little girl, from about 7-11 years old. I’m pretty sure my mom still has my old rubber stamp collection in her closet. I wish there were some cool ones I could use today, but most were of the, ah… oh hell. There’s no nice way to say this. They were of the tacky variety. There. I said it. Let’s just say that for many years my mom used to attend the annual blow-out sale at the Daisy Kingdom Store (which coincidentally now houses Portland’s Museum of Contemporary Craft) to do some Christmas shopping.
Leave a Reply

