Introducing Flapper Girl’s 2009 Halloween Aprons

It’s time! I can’t believe it! I’ve worked so hard on this collection, and I’m so excited to unveil it.

It was really exciting to do research on the origin and golden age of this mystical autumn holiday. I browsed through so many books showcasing hundreds of images of vintage Hallowe’en decor. I learned that once upon a time, costumes were made from crepe paper, and the Dennison Manufacturing Company was once the king of all things Hallowe’en. I fell in love with the stories and photos in Halloween Merrymaking: An Illustrated Celebration Of Fun, Food, And Frolics From Halloweens Past by Diane C. Arkins, who so brilliantly discusses the Golden Age (1890s-1930s) of the holiday. I visited the library and checked out Hallowe’en party books from 1925. Did you know they used to melt lead for a popular party game? It’s true (and oh so dangerous).

Armed with some new info, my love of everything vintage, my affection for Hallowe’en, and my sewing machine, I created a line of holiday aprons that bring together a touch of the old with some new twists. I hope you love this collection as much as I do. Let me know what you think!

If you find an apron (or a few) you can’t live without, you can visit the Flapper Girl boutique and order your favorite one(s) today!

Click on any image below for a detailed view.

Peach Owl

skull apron Bats & Stripes

Green Bats

Orange Apron 2

Black Green Owl

Red with Bats

Pink Spider

Orange Bats

3 Responses to Introducing Flapper Girl’s 2009 Halloween Aprons

  1. Aimee says:

    Oh my goodness! I love Halloween so much, and these aprons are just too good to be true! Well done!

  2. Brenda says:

    I do love, love, love your aprons & am so pleased to feature them on my page, Do Your Haunting in a Halloween Apron at http://www.squidoo.com/halloween-apron !

    Brenda

Leave a Reply

