Of Aprons & Vampires

It’s been cool and gray here the past few days. It’s been really nice to get a break from the heat. The weather has been the perfect inspiration to help me hunker down and work on Hallowe’en aprons while listening to Sookie Stackhouse novels* on my iPod, which is exactly what I’ve been doing. The plan is to have the aprons done by the end of next week, and I’m excited to say that it’s shaping up to happen.

I always feel weird sewing things production-line style. Sewing up a million apron ties, then sewing up a million pockets, etc., always makes me feel like I’m getting nothing accomplished. It’s odd, because intellectually I know that I’m getting things done faster and more efficiently, but when the end of the day comes, and there’s no finished product, it just doesn’t feel right.

I’m finally getting to the point with this collection where I see the end in sight, and I’m loving how everything is turning out. I can’t wait to roll the aprons out in early September!

SookieBill

*My one complaint about the audiobooks is that the narrator (who is not the author) uses this monotone, husky, slightly mumbling voice any time she reads a male character’s dialogue, which just makes every single male character in the book seem like an aloof asshole. It’s very distracting and annoying. It makes me appreciate the really well-done audiobooks, and also makes me wonder if it’s always better when the author does the reading, since they know the material best. I know that the David Sedaris audiobooks, for example, are wonderful, and the manner in which he reads adds an element to them that you don’t get from reading the books yourself.
Leave a Reply

