Vancouver 2010

Chas and I spent a few days in Vancouver, BC last week. It was so nice to take a little summer vacation.

Canada_7

The winter olympics are coming to Vancouver this winter, and I must say whoever is running the merchandise department was smart to hire a good graphic designer, who created the most adorable mascots. They remind me a bit of J. Otto Siebold characters. There was a ton of mascot merch everywhere, and we picked up a cute t-shirt and some post cards for Nattie.

My favorite mascot is Quatchie the sasquatch, and I found the perfect Quatchie souvenir at the IGA Market one night while we were shopping for snacks to consume for that night’s activity, which consisted of watching (deliciously) bad cable tv in our hotel room. Lo and behold, Quatchie maple syrup:

Canada_8

4 Responses to Vancouver 2010

  1. Diana says:

    Quatchie (hee hee) is too cute! Save the can after all the syrup is gone.

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      He is! All the mascots are really adorable. They also have a “sea bear” that looks sort of like a seal, a bear-like spirit animal, and a really cute beaver.

      I don’t think I can even bring myself to use the syrup, because the fear of the sticky goo leaking onto the packaging and ruining is too strong. I think this will just sit up on my shelf next to my plastic robot collection, and I’m fine with that :)

  2. Cori says:

    i love them! they are so cute!!

    • flappergirlcreations says:

      I really wanted to bring home the set of small mascot softies, but it was too hard to justify dropping $50 on them.

Leave a Reply

