Sewing Machine Meme (via Sew, Mama, Sew)

Today I was excited to find out that it’s Sewing Machine Month over at Sew, Mama, Sew! I think it’s really wonderful that a whole month is being dedicated to the machines that help so many people express themselves artistically.

I have a close bond with my sewing machine. It’s not just a tool I use in my creative processes; my sewing machine feels more like an extension of myself. It enables me to turn the ideas that float around in my head into physical manifestations. Only I know how to handle my machine. I know what it feels like when it’s working harmoniously, and I know how it feels differently if something—even a tiny something—is amiss.

So when Sew, Mama, Sew posted a sewing machine meme to kick off Sewing Machine Month, I couldn’t help but pay homage to my favorite machine in the house.

detail

What brand and model do you have?
I have a bright pink vintage Morse Push Button Zig Zag sewing machine. Model number TZ7.

How long have you had it?
I acquired my machine in October 2008.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?
They don’t make these anymore, so it varies. I paid $80 for mine at a little antique store in Long Beach, Washington.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?
I sew all kinds of projects: clothing, accessories, eco-friendly coffee cozies, panties, totes, handbags, retro aprons. To see some of my sewing projects, feel free to peruse my Flickr or Etsy shop.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?
I sew pretty much every day. It varies from day to day how much sewing gets done on the machine, but it gets used a lot.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?
I absolutely love my machine! I have an affinity for all things vintage, so naturally this machine is a good fit for me. It’s made of all metal parts, weighs about a ton, and is a total workhorse. Plus, it’s pink! That’s swoon-worthy in itself.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?
My machine is dependable and quiet. I may not have any novelty stitch settings like the newer machines, but I have my basic straight stitch and zig-zag stich, and that’s all I need, really.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?
Nope! At first, it took awhile for me to get used to my machine when I first started using it. I had been using a Janome for a few years. The Morse felt a lot different than my Janome, since all machines vary slightly. So once I got over the learning curve of using a new machine, it’s been smooth sailing ever since.

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!
Ever since I acquired this machine, I’ve been trying to find out more about it, but I’ve had little luck. What I did find out is that Morse sewing machines were made in Japan and distributed by Morse Distributing Corp. of New York. Morse sewing machines were actually made by the man who started the Toyota Car Company, which cleared up why the word “TOYOTA” is stamped into the bottom of my machine.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?
Yes! In fact, I have recommended it a few times. Every once in awhile I get emails from people who have found this post on my blog, and ask me how my Morse is working out for me. Usually they’ve found a Morse for sale in their local classified ads, and want to know more about the machine before deciding if it’s worth purchasing. So many vintage machines are total power houses. This is totally the case with my Morse. It’s quiet, runs smoothly, and is built to last.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?
Durability, dependability, and ease of use are the top three important factors for sure.

Do you have a dream machine?
More like a dream collection. There are so many wonderful vintage machines out there! I wish I could have all the ones I’ve found to be drool-worthy.

Here are a few more photos of my sewing machine, taken by my talented husband, Chas Bowie. Click each photo for a larger view:

angleviewsewingmachinesideview

stitchesperinch

12 Responses to Sewing Machine Meme (via Sew, Mama, Sew)

  1. Tom Smith says:

    Good article for me

  2. Tom Smith says:

    Thanks for this article

  3. Sheila says:

    What a gorgeous machine. I’m looking for a cool vintage machine at the moment and have been searching for more info on morse. I hope I can find a gem like yours!

  4. Virginia says:

    Awesome machine! I recently acquired a Morse Push Button Zig Zag and am wondering if you know of any repair shops in the Portland area that know how to fix older machines.

  5. Kay A. says:

    I recently purchased a Vintage Morse 200 Delux sewing machine. Do you have any idea where I can find more information on these Morese machines. I would also like to find out what attachments would be compatible with the. I would appreciate any information you can give me.

    Your pink machine is just Beautiful!!!
    Thanks a bunch!
    Kay A.

  6. Joanna Maglio says:

    I recently bought a Morse Model 5400 zig zag with built in buttonholer . It also can be used with a single or double needle. So far I have not been able to find any thing on this particular model. Do you have any suggestions? Thanks

  7. Patty says:

    I have a Morse Apollo 6500 sewing machine. It is still in excellent condition. The only part I’ve had to replace is the O ring for the bobbin winder. My ‘accessories box’ contains several presser feet and other gadgets that are not covered in the manual. The manual is written in (broken) English yet it’s easily understood. I just wish they had included information for all the extra accessories. I was wondering if you might know how I can find out how to use them?

    • memama says:

      If you go on YouTube, there is a video posted, just type in “Morse Apollo 6500 Sewing Machine” which is being sold and the poster shows many stitches and cams. Maybe you could leave her a message for further advice on how to use your cams on the sewing machine. Hope that helps!

    • Karen Boyd says:

      I recently purchased a Morse Apollo 6500 at an estate sale but it had no manual. Would you be willing to sell me a copy of your manual?

  8. memama says:

    I have been given a used Morse Apollo 6500 which has no users manual. Is there anywhere to find the manual for “free” to print out? Or to look at? I also have no extra cams. Saw them on a YouTube video that was posted showing all the stitches you can do with the machine. Thanks for any ideas.

Leave a Reply

