Birthday Girl

So yesterday I turned twenty-something, and I feel really spoiled this year because I got to celebrate over the course of several days.

My birthday festivities kicked off on Saturday night when Chas took me out to dinner at Lauro for an early birthday treat. Then on Sunday night Chas, Nattie, and I wanted to catch the School of Rock show at Berbati’s to keep the celebration going. The kids were covering Pixies songs and Frank Black was there to front the whole thing. It would have been awesome to see it, but unfortunately, the show was sold out. Determined not to let the sold out show thwart our night, we went out for gelato and walked around Laurelhurst Park instead. I was happy to watch the fish, ducks, and turtles in the pond on such a pretty day.

Then yesterday I treated myself to an hour of thrift shopping. I went to Goodwill, and scored two cute skirts, a sweater, and three vintage peach-colored Fiestaware saucers.

After the little one came home from school, Nattie and Chas presented me with with gifts, which included a duo of vintage pink canisters I’m now using to house all my rick-rack (yes—I really have that much rick-rack):
Canisters

This beautiful ceramic bird vase:
Birdie

These adorable vintage Japanese toy figurines:
JapaneseToys

And a few other awesome curios, a rad stationery set, Tuscan Blood Orange body butter by Pacifica, and the 1974 edition of The Book of Owls by Lewis Wayne Walker, which I had been coveting at Powell’s. The book has some of the most amazing black and white photos of owls I’ve ever seen.

After I opened my gifts, I was taken out to dinner at our favorite taco joint, La Sirenita, and then surprised with cupcakes from St. Cupcake when we got home.

This birthday was wonderful, and I’m so glad I got to commemorate another year on the planet with my two favorite people in the universe. I feel so loved, so lucky, and so spoiled!

One Response to Birthday Girl

  1. meredith says:

    Yay! I’m glad you had a superb birthday. I look forward to seeing you next week, little peep!

Leave a Reply

