How Sweet It Is

candy-landWe’ve been having some incredible weather in Portland lately. Today was particularly gorgeous, so I decided to take a walk in my neighborhood this afternoon. I could smell donuts baking, which just added good energy to the experience of a nice walk on a pretty day. I still find it incredibly awesome that one block east of my apartment is a locally owned bakery, which often emits a cinnamon roll aroma, and three blocks south is one of Portland’s best donut shops, which is where the donut smell I mentioned comes from. Sometimes we can even smell fresh baked bread coming from the Franz bakery that’s not too far from here.

For many years, I lived one block away from a paper mill, which smelled like Gwumpkies* that had gone sour, so now I feel like I live in a magical Candyland or something. I love my neighborhood. I love Portland.

*Gwumpkies is what my mom called this horrible dish she used to make when I was a kid. It was basically cabbage stuffed with meat, onions, and spices, then baked in a big baking dish. It sounds okay in theory, but I always thought it was pretty disgusting. Come to think of it, I’ve never been much of a stuffed vegetable fan. I don’t like stuffed peppers either.
Leave a Reply

