Craft Space Revamp

On Friday evening I came to a sobering realization: My craft space was in serious need of some major organization!

I wasn’t quite sure what to do, though. My main problem was that I had no space to put away unfinished projects. I always end up stacking them on top of my fabric storage bins behind the couch. The projects would end up in paper grocery sacks, and any other kind of container I could find. It was the type of thing that got really messy really fast.

I can’t install shelves where I live because the building is old, and has plaster walls. So anything that goes on the walls has to be extended on wire, and hung from a hook on the picture rail that’s up by the ceiling. So shelves were not an option.

Oh, did I mention I wanted to spend very little money (less than $150) on this project?

While I started a brainstorming session (in which I realized pretty quickly that I wish I had a budget that would allow me to make this awesome thingie featured in Martha Stewart’s Living awhile back), I started cleaning out all my big plastic boxes of supplies that I have in my craft space and in the coat closet. I went through everything. Every bin, desk drawer, & wild pile I had lying around was gone through with a fine-toothed comb. I organized what I was keeping & tossed out what couldn’t be given away or sold on my destashing Etsy shop.

Then I took a quick trip to IKEA yesterday, and now this is what my revamped craft space looks like:
craft-room1
Here is my sewing desk & new main shelving unit. I decided to go with the EXPEDIT bookshelf and four LEKMAN boxes. Total price: $138. The boxes are holding projects, and the other shelves are housing supplies.

craft-room-3
This is what you see if you’re sitting at the sewing desk and turn around. Since my living room is pretty huge, the couch separates the front 2/3 of the room (which we use as the living room) from the back 1/3 of the room, which is where my craft space and our bookshelves are.

craft-room2
Finally, my clean, uncluttered sewing desk.

I thought about posting photos of the space before I organzied it, but seriously people, it was bad! I don’t want to remember how messy it was.

I still need to go through a few things in the front closet, and my shelf of jewelry supplies in the hall closet (Isn’t it funny how quickly craft supplies spread throughout the house like weeds?), but those will be quick, easy tasks. Then I will truly feel like my craft world is finally organized and accessible. In other words, I will feel like a new woman!

2 Responses to Craft Space Revamp

  1. blissfullsolutions says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! it looks lovely! i LOOOOOOVE your sewing desk!

  2. Jessica says:

    I LOVE your sewing machine, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE

Leave a Reply

