Earth Day

Happy Earth Day everyone! I’m proud to say that Flapper Girl does the following to keep things green:
• I recycle and reuse shipping materials as much as possible.
• I shop at my local fabric thrift store as much as possible, which helps keep materials others don’t want out of the landfills.
• I use the thin cardboard inserts from women’s tights to make patterns for small projects, such as patches and appliques.
• I save empty thread spools and my daughter uses them in her crafts.

Here are some other great “go green” things I thought I’d share…

1. CatalogChoice.org: “Catalog Choice is a free service that allows you to decide what gets in your mailbox. Use it to reduce your mailbox clutter, while helping save natural resources. Catalog Choice is a sponsored project of the Ecology Center. It is endorsed by the National Wildlife Federation and the Natural Resources Defense Council, and funded by the Overbrook Foundation, the Merck Family Fund, and the Kendeda Fund.”

I signed up for this a few weeks ago, and I dig it so far. Basically, whenever you get a catalog in the mail you don’t want to receive anymore, you login to Catalog Choice, find the catalog, and request to be removed from their mailing list. It’s an easy way to reduce junk mail and save resources.

2. Bath & Beauty Recipes: Make your own bath and beauty products. Use natural ingredients and put them in recycled glass or plastic containers. I made some peppermint sugar scrub from this website the other day, and it rocks! Bonus: Making your own bath and beauty products will also save you a bunch of money. [Via]

3. Clean & Green: Natural Homemade House Cleaners: Make your own household cleaning products using natural ingredients. I haven’t tried any of these yet, but I am going to. I actually used baking soda, a little bit of water, a sponge, and some elbow grease to remove some caked-on greasy stuff from a cookie sheet that I had previously tried to remove several times to no avail. The baking soda worked wonders, and it looks like a new pan. You can also make your own laundry detergent too. Bonus: Making your own cleaning products will also save you a bunch of money.

4. Indoor Herb Garden: Grow your own cooking herbs indoors. Oh man. I have been daydreaming about having a little indoor herb garden lately. I really want to start this project within the next month. As with the last two, this project will also save you a ton of money, granted you love to cook. I don’t know about you, but I am tired of paying too much money for half-rotten basil and mint at the grocery store. Plus imagine how lovely the herbs will make your house smell :)

Leave a Reply

